Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Autumn is almost here, which makes me very happy. I actually squeed aloud the other day when I discovered pumpkins at the grocery store! It’s time for picking apples, carving pumpkins, roasting things and enjoying the crisp air, the smell of leaves and campfires, and to make lots of soup. I know I promised that this post would have to do with Butternut Squash Soup, but I haven’t made it yet (I plan to this evening and will take lots of pics, I promise!)

Instead, I have some actual knitting content, and the fruits of my labors (pun intended). I finished a project while I was in Rhinebeck, but I didn’t post a picture of it, because I hadn’t kitchenered the toe shut. I finished my plain vanilla socks in Bernat Sox (Wooded Denim colourway). They were knit on size US 3 (3.25 mm) needles. I cast on 48 stitches and did a 15-row border of 2×2 rib. If you’d like to make this type of sock, you can find the basic recipe in Stephanie Pearl-McPhee‘s Knitting Rules (I took her Grok the Sock class, and I haven’t used a pattern since!). Let me tell you, these are WARM.

ImageI also finally started working on something that Zachary has been begging for a while 🙂 I was poking around Ravelry, perusing patterns, and I came across the most awesome stuffed toy ever. It’s a 24-inch tall Totoro!!! I had bought the yarn a while back to knit him a poncho (he wanted one like Clint Eastwood wears in The Good, The Bad and the Ugly). My mom made him a poncho out of a fleece blanket I picked up, so I had the yarn just sitting around 🙂 I finally cast Totoro on (3 times, mind you…) the other day. It doesn’t look like much, but I’m pretty happy with the progress.

ImageIt’s knit on US size 8 (5mm) needles out of S.R. Kertzer Northern Chunky in charcoal grey. The belly will be Bernat Softee Chunkee in white (a random skein I pulled out of the stash). It’s a neat little pattern, and I’m hoping I’m up to the task of duplicate stitching all the detailing on. 

I’ve been to a few Hidden Harvest events recently, and I came home with some treasures! First, we went to pick grapes & elderberries in the most beautifully landscaped backyard I’ve ever seen. The grapes were a wild variety, so they don’t get as big as commercial table grapes, nor do they taste very good unless processed. I’ll be adding these to some kind of jam probably during the winter. They’re currently happily nestled in my freezer.

ImageAnd then I went on an apple-picking expedition in Sandy Hill. The poor woman who owns the property inherited three very large apple trees she didn’t want (only one of which produces freshly-edible apples – the others all need processing to be edible). Unfortunately, my portion was mostly windfalls, which were quite wormy and required a LOT of prep work. These are also in my freezer – I think I’ll use them for baking. I don’t think they’d make very good sauce. I also went to pick crabapples with the kids in Gatineau Park (there are a number of trees just up the walking path from the parking area when you enter the park near Gamelin street in Hull). I froze a few, but now I’m about to be inundated with much larger, nicer crabapples from my friend Sue’s tree!!! I can’t wait! (I do plan on sharing the bounty, I’ve already got a few takers for some of her apples). 

Image

We’re probably going to go apple picking this weekend with my brother and his family. I want to bake some pies, which we generally do in assembly-line fashion at my mom’s house. Fall is definitely in the air – we got our first frost last night. I can’t wait to buy a few pumpkins, and get my winter cooking underway!

 

 

 

