Tags

, , , , , ,

Things have been a bit hectic around here since the beginning of August, and I think it’s time to take a deep breath and relax. School is going well. I’m actually keeping on top of the reading and assignments. I’m not sure what will happen when I start my accounting class, but I’m cautiously optimistic. I swallowed my pride and paid the insane amount for a parking pass ($145 per term for evening access only!) so I wouldn’t have to scramble for change. I think next year, I might splurge and get myself a year-round access pass. I discovered yesterday that my next class is only offered during the day on Monday afternoons. I know that a number of the students in my program are people going back to school as adults. That means that most of us have day jobs. Why is there no evening group for this class? It’s a core class for my degree (the only core class offered next term that I haven’t already taken). Ugh. Fortunately, I have the greatest boss ever, and he’s willing to let me work out a flex arrangement.

Knitting wise, I’ve sort of been on a roll. I don’t have anything to show though, since Totoro is just going to look like a big grey bag until he’s just about done. I’ve got about 4-5 inches done up the side so far (need 13 total, so 9 or so more until the next stage). I’ve also started crocheting full granny square blanket squares. Not sure why, just felt like it. I can knock one off in about an hour or two, and I’m growing a pile of them on my dresser. I haven’t started a new pair of socks yet. My dad actually requested a pair, but his measurements are weird (gout and swollen ankles – I might do them out of DK instead of sock yarn). Rob’s pair is still sitting dismantled in a knitting bag, and I’m not in the mood to start yet another pair for me. They’re comfortable, but wayyyy too warm. I’ll be glad to have them in January when it’s -30C, but for now? Forget it! I have no idea how Sue and Kari can wear them year-round. I’ve missed the last couple of podcast recordings, and I might miss this week’s as well, since we’re supposed to go apple-picking. 

Canning… well…. I kind of got burned out on canning. I’m going to ask my ex if he and my son can bring my oven upstairs from the basement (so I can finally have more than one working burner). Oven’s been down there for two? three years? Thanks, landlord. Yet another thing you’ve promised to fix and just left half-done for a long time. I have a lot of stuff frozen for later canning though. Yellow plums, peaches, kiwis and last year’s apples are all in the freezer, waiting for their turn to become something awesome. I also have a tub of crabapples and the apples and wild grapes we picked for Hidden Harvest last month in the chest freezer. I’ve pretty much run out of jars though, and I hate to pay what they charge for new ones *sigh* I probably should buy more though, since I want to ramp up my canning next year. Probably smaller and fewer batches of jam, and more pickles and such. I’d like to buy myself a pressure canner, if I can find one that’s not too pricey.

I keep trying to tell myself that Thanksgiving isn’t that far off. It’s less than a month away! But since that’s the next time I get to see Rob, it seems to be a really long time from now. Perhaps that will give me time to start some of the mass purge I want to engage in around the apartment. I’ve decided to follow my friend Tawnya’s lead and draw myself an elephant to eat one bite at a time. She created this amazing elephant drawing for herself, and partitioned it up into “bites” – things she wants to accomplish before the end of the year. I think she’s brilliant 🙂 So I need to find myself a good drawing of an elephant and fill in my “things to do”. I may make one for each of the kids too, so they can get organized and actually be able to find their stuff. And then every evening when we get home, after homework is done, we can each go our separate ways to get one bite of the elephant finished!

What are your tricks for getting/staying organized? Do you find it overwhelming to keep up once school starts? Let me know in the comments 😉

Image

