Tags

, , , , , , , ,

So yesterday, I was all fired up and ready to post an AWESOME blog post. I had ALL kinds of pictures I wanted to take and then post, and so I got the camera out, and started taking pictures and.. 

the battery died. I somehow misplaced the camera case (which contains the battery charger). Which means I can’t charge the battery OR get any of the existing pictures off the camera. Which means you’ll have to use your imagination to picture all the lovely things I will be describing. *sigh* Yes, I am a crappy blogger.

So anyway, the first thing I was going to tell you all about, with amazing pictures in tow, was my visit to the Parkdale Market yesterday. Ottawa has a HUGE number of farmers’ markets all around the city, but the two touristy markets are the Byward Market (which is STUPIDLY expensive) and the Parkdale Market, which is slightly less expensive. Unless, like I did yesterday, you come across this lovely woman from Curran, ON who grows all her own produce (a lot of these places will buy commercial produce and sell it at farm stands, making you think it’s cheaper than the stuff at the grocery store, or better quality, or SOMETHING, but it’s the same stuff, at the same price).

Curran is a tiny little place, more of a crossroads than a town, really, about an hour south-east of Ottawa. So these veg are not only local, but they were DIRT CHEAP. I ended up getting a 2lb basket of potatoes, a 2lb basket of the most beautiful carrots I’ve ever seen, a huge cauliflower, an ENORMOUS broccoli, and two cabbages – one normal sized, and one gargantuan (mom wants me to make cabbage soup this weekend) for… get this, TEN DOLLARS. This morning, I made udon noodles with broccoli for the kids’ lunches, and they were thrilled (the fourteen-year-old actually said, with no trace of irony or sarcasm, “YAY! Broccoli!” I have weird children, and no, you can’t have them).

So for 1/10th of my weekly grocery budget, I managed to get all my vegetables for the week 😀 In other news, I haven’t been knitting much, although Totoro has grown to about 6 inches (half-way to decreases!), but I have been crocheting like a FIEND. I decided it was time to use up some of the random acrylic scraps people have given me over the years, so I started crocheting filled granny squares (those are granny squares that don’t have holes – see below).

Image

 

Anyway, thus far, in about a week and a half, I’ve made 13 of these squares, and I’ve only just started to make a dent in the acrylic stash 🙂 (I don’t seem to be able to edit the image above, so it’s not centered, but I just wanted to say that those aren’t my squares… just an example, and no, I have no idea why they ended their rounds mid-row instead of in the corner like a normal person would). They’re great travel knitting, because I’m only ever carrying one square with me 🙂 And there are SO many colours! I think this is going to end up being a fantastic blanket 🙂 (or several)

I also manged to pick up a few pie pumpkins last night (they’re $1.50 each at the Herb and Spice on Wellington, Ottawa peeps!). I will be processing them, and then going out to buy more, since I learned the hard way last year that we don’t go out and buy 8 pumpkins and then let them sit around until we feel like processing them. *sigh* Only one more week until apple pie!

