Tags

, , ,

I am cold, I am tired, and I am sore. And it’s my birthday. Unfortunately, I have to spend the day at work, and then the evening at school. I’m a bit burned out, but I’m trying to work on finding some balance. I’m also still churning out granny squares at a ridiculous rate (for me). I went through my stash and found a lot of acrylic to dedicate to the project. There’s some missing that I know should be there somewhere, but my bedroom is basically made of yarn at this point, so I just need to clean up some to find it.Β 

We’ve been making great strides with the cleanup project, but there’s still SO much to be done. I came home last night to find the living room floor almost completely cleared off and one and a half garbage bags sitting off to one side. Nice surprise to come home to! My kids are pretty awesome when they give themselves the chance to be. Rob will be here in three days, and I’m so psyched πŸ™‚Β 

The next couple of weekends are going to be sort of crazy. This weekend is Thanksgiving and next weekend is Rhinebeck! I’m very excited about Rhinebeck, even though I’m pretty much flat broke. I have money for gas, hotel & food. No yarn money at all. And I’m oddly okay with that. A friend of mine picked my spinning wheel up from Colborne, so I have to go get it from her house (the same lady who originally sold me the wheel). I’m kind of excited to see it again, but NO SPINNING until the living room is finished.Β 

I’ve been desperately wanting to get some pumpkin baking done, but I think I’ll be waiting until after Thanksgiving for that – Rob doesn’t like pumpkin, and I’ll be damned if I’m going to waste my baking efforts πŸ˜‰ This coming weekend is also our apple pie fest. My parents have always done apple pies in huge batches once a year. This year, I’ll be making some pies for our house as well. I want a few plain apple pies, a few caramel apple pies, and a few cranberry apple pies (recipe from Canadian Living magazine). I’m not sure I’ll bother with the lattice top, but we’ll see. I’d also like to do a few apple crisp pies (basically an apple pie with a streusel topping instead of a top crust). I like apple pie, but I also like variety πŸ™‚ I promise to take pictures!

Once again, it looks like Rob will be missing most of the fall color, because the leaves have been changing for a few weeks now. We’ll take a walk at the arboretum and see if we can find anything worth photographing. He also wants to visit Nepean Point and the old Union Train Station on Rideau Street.Β 

For now, I think I’m going to go enjoy a cup of Chocolate Hazelnut tea to warm me up. πŸ™‚ Yay, fall!

