Tags

, , , , ,

Image

Doesn’t that look appetizing? 🙂 They had some lovely Tilapia fillets (cleaned – looked nothing like this pic!) at the grocery store last week, so I picked some up, with no idea of what I was going to do with them. I’ve never really learned to cook fish properly. We didn’t eat a lot of fish growing up (other than what we caught, or Highliner fish sticks…) and it’s just not something I’ve ever tried really hard to master. I also had a pile of veg in the fridge that needed eating, so I decided to make a pot of fish soup. It’s not quite chowder, but it’s damn good (the kids DEVOURED it). I’m starting to think that I could put anything in a soup pot and my kids would fall upon it like they were starving.

I’m not going to post a recipe, because I didn’t use one. I had some red onions, so I diced two of them, sauteed them in a bit of olive oil, and then tossed in one diced sweet potato, 3 thinly-sliced carrots, one diced zucchini and five or six sliced scallions (green onions). Sauteed the veggies until everything was starting to soften, and then threw in two generous Tilapia fillets, diced to about 1-inch. I also happened to have a bag of frozen bay scallops, so I tossed that in too. Added a splash of fish sauce, a bit of Tamari soy sauce and a generous splash of oyster sauce. Then, when everything was starting to smell just lovely, I poured in a bottle of Mott’s Spicy Clamato (you could use any brand tomato/clam cocktail) and a quart of low-sodium chicken stock. Added a bit of tarragon and black pepper, and let the whole mess simmer for a few hours. It was SO GOOD. I even put a quart of it into a jar for my parents, so they could have some fishy goodness too.  (OOOOH Forgot to mention the secret ingredient! I cooked up half a package of President’s Choice thick-cut peppered bacon and crumbled it into the soup – totally made it!)

I can’t remember if I mentioned socks the last time I blogged, but I cast on a sock for myself last Wednesday. By Thursday evening I was past the heel flap, and last night I reached the toe decreases. I created the pattern myself, but I’m not sure if I’ll release it as a pattern, because any idiot could do what I did (well, any idiot who knows how to knit socks). I’m not a pattern designer by any stretch of the imagination, but these are really cute (well, this one… I’m still on the first sock). The landlord finally dealt with the ungodly heat in the building this weekend, and it was dang cold in my apartment last night. (I’m not complaining, but the kids might be. At least, I think that’s what those whimpers mean.) I think I may actually be able to wear hand-knit socks during the colder months. I wish I had a functional camera, because it’s pretty. The Three Irish Girls Adorn sock yarn in Rainforest is perfect for this very subtle pattern, and the socks are just flying – for me, anyway. I don’t knit fast. I’m still knocking out granny squares, albeit at a much slower pace. I still manage to finish a few every week.

There will be apple butter in my very near future. I have about 10 lbs of apples sitting around the kitchen, waiting to be processed. Sadly, my brand new (used) range with four working burners that I was so enthusiastic about last week? Yeah… the oven doesn’t work. *sigh* That means the apple butter will be done in the crockpot, which is fine. And if the apples don’t all fit in my 6-quart crock, I’ll pull out the little 2-quart crock as well.

Right now, I have some accounting homework I need to get back to (and I don’t want to, because I’m not sure I get it all). I seem to be on a soup kick lately. What’s your favorite soup for fall or cold weather? Rob has asked me to find a good recipe for beer cheese soup (must be a Wisconsin thing).

