Tags

, , , , , , ,

I keep waiting to feel better or to have less on my plate so I’ll have time to blog, and I think I have to accept that it’s not going to happen any time soon. A bit of a revelation, health-wise though. I’ve been assuming that all the weird symptoms I’ve been having were related to the gynecological issue for which I have an appointment in January. Everything from nausea to incontinence, I’ve been attributing to this mystery problem. So I wasn’t paying attention. I wasn’t listening to my body. I’ve been eating better, exercising more, and I keep gaining weight. I feel sick to my stomach half the time. I have been having pain in my lady regions. I had what I thought was pretty severe intestinal pain over the last few days, even though I wasn’t constipated or overly gassy. (yay TMI)

Yeah. I’m an idiot. I’ve got a UTI. A pretty bad one. One that is currently making my kidneys feel like they’ve been kicked repeatedly. I figured it out this evening. I won’t tell you how I figured it out (that really would be TMI of the worst kind), but I’m pretty positive that’s what’s going on. And it’s been going on for WEEKS. And I didn’t see the doctor about it. I’m definitely going to be seeing her tomorrow.

The university class is finally finished, and I’m very relieved. I was a bit bored and yet still overwhelmed with this one. Mainly because I can’t manage my time very well and was procrastinating on getting assignments done until the last possible second, which has become an unfortunate habit – one I’m not happy with. I tell myself for WEEKS to get to work, to get something done, and still sit there staring at whatever it is I’m supposed to be working on, and do nothing. I’m working on trying to schedule things I tend to put off, like tasks I don’t particularly like performing at work, homework for the accounting class (which is also nearly over), exercise. I still have a long way to go, but there has been some improvement. 

Those of you who follow the Two Tangled Skeins group on Ravelry will know that Rob’s socks met with a rather unfortunate end. I’ll copy what I posted over there:

It appears that Rob’s socks just weren’t meant to be. I brought them to my mom’s on Sunday to work on while the kids put up and decorated the Christmas tree (I don’t celebrate or decorate for Christmas, but my family does).

Apparently, whichever child was charged with carrying the knitting bag back to the car dropped it. My mom called me today to let me know that they found pieces of the bag, the entire sock, mangled needles, and a chewed-up ball of yarn after their contractor had passed the snow-blower. The bag was covered in snow, otherwise he would have seen it and picked it up.

It just wasn’t meant to be. These socks were cursed from the get-go. I cast them on FOURTEEN separate times, and I seemed to be in a black hole between finishing the heel gusset decreases and starting the toe decreases. I’d been working on it for at least two weeks. I couldn’t work on them unless there was really strong light, because they were black, and it was really hard to see.

So I’ve held a brief funeral for the socks and mom gave them a decent burial (in her trash bin). Now that I know the appropriate needle size and cast-on number, I can start him a new pair of socks. Later. MUCH later.

So as you can imagine, Rob will not be getting the socks for his birthday after all, or at any point in the near future. And he’s not getting black ones. At least, not until I buy more yarn and a really REALLY good lamp 🙂 I also frogged my Business Casual socks. The idea of adapting the pattern for ankle-high socks as opposed to full-length ones was stressing me out, and I hadn’t touched them in over a month. I didn’t want to knit on them anymore (sorry Tanis, it’s a beautiful pattern, but I’m afraid I’m just a vanilla kind of girl). I saved the ribbing and have started reknitting the socks as plain vanilla ones (following the Yarn Harlot’s recipe from Knitting Rules). I knit for fun, right? So if something is making me unhappy or stressing me out, it needs to go. That was the story with these socks. I’m sure a day will come when I want to knit them again, and at that time, I will enjoy them greatly. It just wasn’t meant to be right now. I also frogged Skye’s Strawberries & Cream top. I finally got it onto two circs to have her try it on, and it really didn’t work. Plus, I hated knitting it. So it’s gone now. I did order yarn to knit her the Cotton Bamboo Smocked top by Rebecca Hatcher and I’m kind of excited to get that one started.

My friend Elizabeth was knitting this gorgeous linen stitch scarf while we were at Rhinebeck, and I was fascinated with it. When I realized the other day that I wasn’t actually excited or looking forward to anything I had on the needles at all, I decided to pick a yarn in my stash at random and to start a project with it. I ended up choosing this gorgeous stuff called Migrations from Alchemy. It’s 70% wool, 30% silk, soft as a cloud and gorgeous colours ranging from pale pink to deep maroon. If you’re on Ravelry and follow the link above, it’s the colourway called Cinnamon Teal (not sure where the Teal comes in…). Anyway, I decided that the variegation would be perfect for a linen stitch scarf, so I got started. I’m about halfway through the first skein, and it’s gorgeous!!! It just looks so finicky and beautiful and i can’t believe I’m actually producing this breathtaking fabric! The cast-on was 401 stitches, as is each row, so as you can imagine, the progress isn’t all that fast LOL 

I haven’t done any canning, but I have been getting my house in order. I’m still waiting on the new washing machine from the landlord, but I have jury-rigged the old one so that it will at least function. (Screams like a bloody banshee going through the spin cycle, but I’ve been careful to only use it during reasonable hours.) A lot of stuff has been going out the door, and I feel like I may actually be able to purge a lot of stuff this winter. The book collection needs to be pared down considerably, and we’re working in sections to be a bit more efficient. I’m also working on stashing down the yarn “collection” considerably, trying to knit up as much as I can without buying more – I know… one can never have enough yarn. But when the yarn begins to encroach on living space and I can’t walk around my room without stepping on a bag? It’s gotten out of hand. The granny square blanket squares are piling up, and since Rob bought me crochet classes with Anja for my birthday, I have learned how to put them together. That will be a project for when I have no class work and the kitchen table can be used as a works pace.

I know it sounds like my life is complete chaos right now, but I have actually been making progress. I’m actually quite pleased at how it’s been going. Things are really happening, as opposed to me sitting around wishing they would happen, and getting the UTI in check will go a long way toward helping me sort things out. I’ve missed you all! 

