Tags

, , , , , , ,

I don’t care what anybody says, and I don’t care if it was snowing when I went to bed last night. SPRING IS HERE. For a couple of weeks now, we’ve been seeing the thermometer poke up above the freezing mark, and for the last three days, we’ve had solid POSITIVE single digits! It’s slushy and gross and GLORIOUS! This means that everything will be covered in mud and things are going to start growing, and my least-favorite flower has already popped up. You know the one… it’s that ugly orange one that pops straight up out of the asphalt in the middle of the road. The construction cone. *sigh*

This morning, I headed off to work to discover that one bridge into the city was closed, and another was down to one lane in each direction. Not only that, but the only two routes I have to HEAD towards the bridges from my neighborhood were ALSO festooned in lovely orange flower-cones. So no matter which direction I choose, I’m guaranteed to pass through at least two construction zones. That wouldn’t be so bad if my commute wasn’t less than 4 miles from home. Oh well, not much I can do about it, although it is frustrating. Unfortunately, my pleas to the city to turn the Prince of Wales Bridge (a rail bridge connecting Hull & Ottawa) into a walking/cycling trail have fallen on deaf ears, so there’s no easy way for me to walk to work. It’d cut an entire mile off the walk, making it actually feasible (and safer than trying to brave traffic on the Chaudiere Bridge). 

I’ve been knitting a lot recently, although I haven’t gone to knit night in a month. Haven’t been much in the mood to be around people, and I’m still getting the hang of the diabetes meds, which means that by Friday evening, I usually feel tired and cruddy, and just want to go home. I’ve been doing better since Saturday though. I think I’ve gotten a bit better at balancing things so I’m not eating just veggies at one meal and just meat at another. Rather than following my cravings blindly – and when you have a desperate craving for kale and spinach, you know something’s up – I’ve been trying to follow the guidelines on the Canadian Diabetes Association’s website. AND I started taking my meds AFTER I’ve eaten rather than before. Causes fewer drastic drops. 

So Rob almost has an entire sock. This new pair? Has been FANTASTIC after the last one. These are navy blue instead of black, because I’m never going to knit black socks again. Cascade Heritage again, on 2.5mm. It’s a basic 3×2 rib that follow’s the Yarn Harlot‘s sock recipe from Knitting Rules. (I can’t knit socks from a pattern, they never fit right). I’ve also been working on Zachary’s sweater – the Flax pattern by tincanknits (aka Emily Wessel & Alexa Ludeman), and I’ve even pulled Totoro out for a few rounds. He’s my doctor’s office knit, because the ball sits inside the project, which at this point looks like a huge bowl. Self-contained! 

I’ve also been feeling a desperate desire to spring clean. Actually, more like spring purge. There is just SO MUCH STUFF in our house, we can hardly move around. That needs to change. Baby toys (my kids are 12 and 15), picture books, clothes that don’t fit, games we haven’t played in 10+ years? They all need to go. I’m almost tempted to pare down my yarn stash too, but let’s not get crazy… I will at some point, but I’m not ready to do that yet. 

School has been…. not good. I got my midterm back last night, and I was so upset by the grade, I started crying and went home. I had a really good feeling when I finished it a couple of weeks ago and handed it in. And to get it back with a C-? Yeah. That’s right. I got a C- on my midterm. I’ve had to face the fact that my writing skills in French are simply not strong enough for me to complete an entire Bachelors program. My English-language classes? A+ across the board. So the C- thing is really discouraging. I will be writing an entrance exam at a different school which teaches in French AND English (most of the classes being in English) and I think I will be more comfortable there. I’m tired of feeling stupid because I never learned to write properly in French. My vocabulary just isn’t as strong, and I really don’t understand the grammar (or the linguistic terminology) very well. I did take English grammar classes as an adult, so that might be why I have a better understanding. I will give the English university classes a shot before I give up entirely. I really REALLY want a BA, so I’m pretty discouraged right now, but at least I have a plan.

Fitness-wise, I’ve been wavering. The numbers on the scale have gotten more and more depressing. I know it’s the meds. I know it’s the meds. I know it’s the meds. But that doesn’t make a 12 pound weight gain any more acceptable to me. Yeah, that’s right. I started taking the meds. I was fine for a few days, and then, BOOM. Twelve pounds within three days. And it hasn’t budged. I’ve been increasing the intensity of my workouts, adding in yoga, weights, whatever. NOTHING. NO result. Well, that’s not true. My calves have gained a lot more muscle definition and my thighs are getting pretty muscly too. But my clothes are still tight and I feel bloated and gross, and nothing I’ve tried has changed it. I’m due to see the doctor in another 2 1/2 weeks. I went through a week or two of really wonky blood sugar, crashing regularly (sometimes more than once a day) and having digestive issues. I’m starting to feel like I’m finally back on an even keel, so hopefully the scale will start moving downward again. I’ve been trying to stay on track with food, to the point that we had a beef rib feast at my mom’s the other night, and I had two of the smaller ribs and half a baked potato. I did have a brownie cookie for dessert, but it was way too sweet, and I didn’t enjoy it much.

It’s audit time at work (an annual occurrence – those of you who work in finance will understand), so it’s a bit insane and kind of hectic. It’s not too bad though, because our office is really laid back and my boss is pretty awesome. He figures the audit gets done when it gets done. I’ve done a lot more to prep for it this year – you know, now that I know what to expect! Last year was a nightmare I never, ever want to repeat. Kind of looking forward to it this time around! 

Who else is ready for some major spring cleaning? 

