Tags

, ,

I know, I promised this recipe last week… and even worse, I forgot to put the leftovers in the fridge one night, and what was left of my pot of soup went off. *sigh* Eventually I will learn. Of this, I am convinced. At least we got to enjoy it, and I was smart enough to put some aside for lunches (and a quart jar for my parents) before that happened. 

I’ve been sort of half-heartedly doing a row here and a row there on Rob’s socks. When I realized that there was no way I’d be able to present him with a completed pair by Passover, I kind of lost my desire. That, and it’s been REALLY HOT in my apartment the last week or so, and when my hands are sweaty, the last thing I feel like doing is knitting. But worse than that, I think I’ve lost the baby blanket I had started knitting last weekend!!! I was carrying it around in a paper bag, which seems to have gone missing since I got back from Sylvie & Sarah’s house. AAAAARRRGHHHHHHH. To be fair, my kids would not have known that the paper bag was full of knitting unless they peeked inside. I really hope that’s not what happened though, but if it did, I’m out a circular needle and a couple of stitch markers – easily replaceable. I have TONS of that yarn, so it’s not like I can’t start it over. It’s just really annoying to have to! I found Zachary’s sweater (another case of the kids moving my knitting around), so maybe I’ll get back to that instead 🙂 

There was no canning done this weekend, mainly due to the fact that the kids were home with me, and we spent our time trying to clean the house up a bit. I think the next few weekends are going to have to be stepped up as a more intense spring cleaning so I can walk around the house and not feel overwhelmed with STUFF. 

Image

Last night involved some food prep for the rest of the week’s lunches, and I was kind of proud of myself. I went to the produce store, and then to the fish market, and managed to get loads of healthy stuff for very little money, and prepped a bunch of food for the week. My lunch for the rest of the week is going to consist of sole filets with cumin and mint, baked squash and Jamaican sweet potato, and some bbq black beans. I bought wraps and sandwich meats for the kids’ lunches, and there was one lonely slice of roast beef left this morning, so I made myself one with a bit of cheese and a LOT of lettuce for breakfast. I’ve got a bunch of different types of veggies for dinners and snacks, and I’m motivated to start getting this extra bonus weight off (The stuff I gained after I went on diabetes meds). The doctor took me off Metformin, since I seemed to be having an adverse reaction to it, and five pounds dropped off immediately. Now I’m going to have to work for the rest 🙂 

Okay, I know you only came for the gumbo recipe 😉 I’m getting to it!

Fish Gumbo

1 64-oz bottle extra spicy Clamato (or other tomato-clam cocktail) – I think it’s called PIcante in the US

1 lb of baby new potatoes, chopped, or 3 large potatoes, diced

3-4 large carrots, roughly chopped

3-4 stalks celery, roughly chopped

1 large onion, roughly chopped

1 19-oz can diced tomatoes (I used a pint of my home-canned ones)

1 lb okra, roughly chopped

4-5 tilapia or sole filets, chopped

1 tsp cayenne pepper

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 bunch fresh flat-leaf parsley (optional)

Starting with Clamato, place all ingredients in a large stock pot. Fill Clamato bottle with water and add to soup. Bring to a rolling boil over high heat, and reduce to medium. Allow to simmer for 30-40 minutes, until vegetables are cooked through. Serves 6-8. 

What I love about soup is that once you’ve got all the ingredients together, it’s dead simple. You just toss it all in the pot and go! If you find this too spicy, you can reduce the amount of cayenne and black pepper, or omit them completely (and use regular Clamato instead of the extra-spicy). Shrimp would be an excellent addition to this soup, but I didn’t have any on hand. 

Image

 

