Tags

, , , ,

I know I’m probably butchering my Shakespeare paraphrase there. It’s been a while since I read Romeo and Juliet in high school (“But soft! What light through yonder window breaks? It is the east, and Juliet is the sun!” is about all I honestly remember). It’s been a rough few days since I got home from Chicago. For some reason, it’s been harder to adapt to sleeping alone again this time than it has after any other visit. I turn over multiple times during the night in search of Rob and he’s not there, which wakes me out of whatever fitful sleep I was getting. After this happens a few times, my rest for the night is ruined. Ah well… Things will get back to normal soon enough. 

I noticed in the last few days that a lot of people have been clicking through from the Yarn Harlot’s blog. Welcome! I hope you like it 🙂

In a week and a half, I will be collecting Sue and Kari (the girls from Two Tangled Skeins) and our friend Elizabeth, and we will be taking off for warmer climes… well, slightly warmer! We’re going to the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival!

Image

If you’re going to be there, comment and let me know if you’d like to meet up to say hello! 

In other news, I have signed up for a 5k walk in June. It’s the Walk to Fight Arthritis, and I’m hoping to raise a bit of money this year. I went on this walk a couple of years ago (Rob and the kids came along for support) but this year, I’m flying solo!  So would you please consider sponsoring me for this walk? I don’t have a tip jar on this site, and don’t ever intend to. My goal with this blog is not to make money for myself.

I’ve had arthritis most of my life, and I know many people who are affected by it, most of them far more seriously than I am. I get sore, I hurt (sometimes to the point of tears), and I get tired. I know people who are so drastically affected by arthritis that they can’t function. My daughter’s teacher has undergone several experimental treatments and struggles on a daily basis to function normally with debilitating pain. 

If you would like to sponsor me, you can do so through this link. Please help us research better ways to combat this disease. Too many people suffer from constant pain. In other news, I’m now actually training myself to work up to being able to do a 5k in my sleep 😉 (That’s a figure of speech…. I can barely put one foot in front of the other AWAKE sometimes without tripping over myself.) In the past, when I’ve done 5ks, I’ve done no preparation at all, and felt like a zombie who got hit by a truck for the rest of the weekend. The goal isn’t to just do the 5k and drop. It’s to get in shape as well. The trail at Lac Leamy is my current training ground, and that’s 2.5km around. I think I’ve got this!

Incidentally, donations of $20 or more are tax deductible and The Arthritis Society will be providing receipts. But really? Anything helps, even a dollar! 

In other news, I’ve been ITCHING to get my spinning wheel going. AND to get the spring cleaning thing done. Stay tuned…

