Tags

, , , , ,

We’re going to move into the kitchen for a little bit today, because I discovered something amazing and wonderful and what I imagine the gods ate before someone mistranslated “ambrosia” to mean some weird jello mold salad with little marshmallows in it. My friends, today I discovered the pomelo! (Those of you who know about these things are now scratching their heads, saying, “How did she go this long without trying one?” and the rest of you are scratching your heads, saying, “What the heck is a pomelo??”) Well, the short answer is, this:

Image

The rind might be yellow, it might be green. The flesh inside might be pink, or it might be pale yellow. This is a fruit that’s grown predominantly in south and southeast Asia. The only thing you’re guaranteed when you cut into one is that you’re about to have an amazing sensory experience.

For one thing, the pith? It’s EXTREMELY bitter. And this is from someone who loves nomming the pith off a navel orange. It’s honestly my favorite part of the navel orange, but I couldn’t even consider eating this one. For one thing, 3/4 of the fruit seems to be pith (that picture up there? That’s a BABY pith compared to the one I opened up). It smells like the most amazing, ripe, juicy, delicious grapefruit aroma you can imagine. And the taste? It tastes like I imagine grapefruit would if it wasn’t full of bitterness and betrayal.. Because while the pith is very bitter, the flesh itself is sweet and fragrant. It’s kind of tricky to eat though… follow me.

Image

(Obviously, none of these pictures are mine, since the pomelo keeps changing color). First, you have to cut the top and bottom off the fruit. You can start pretty far down before encountering any actual fruit. Pomelos are mother nature’s misadventures in over-packaging. There’s generally one to two inches of pith between the rind and the fruit. Next, you have to remove as much of the pith as you can. 

Image

Okay, I just ate an entire one of these monsters, and I’m salivating again! Removing the pith is not even the longest part of the process. Once you’ve removed the pith, you still have to remove the membranes! I kind of skipped over this step and just cut the pomelo into sections and ate around the membranes, but it’s worth the extra effort beforehand to not have to fight your food. 

Image

Once this is all done, you have two choices. Dig in and slurp it all up by itself, or use it in some of these fantastic recipes. I’m telling you right now, this has now joined the persimmon as one of my favorite fruits and I will be getting them whenever they’re available. They’re used extensively in Thai, Vietnamese and Korean cooking (OHLORD, I just had a thought… orange chicken? Use pomelo!!!) So try it out, and be creative!

Pomelo marmalade (from Steph’s Cup of Tea blog)

Dtam Som Oo (Thai Pomelo Salad from Saveur)

As I mentioned yesterday, I’m doing the 5k Walk to Fight Arthritis on June 8th in Ottawa. I’m not sure how many of you follow the webcomics Least I Could Do or Looking for Group. (If you don’t know them, go check them out!) Anyway, these comics are written and drawn by two very talented people. Ryan Sohmer, the writer, and Lar De Souza, the artist. Yesterday, a friend of mine posted a fundraising link on her Facebook page from Lar’s wife Christie, who is doing an MS walk in Toronto on May 4th. I jokingly commented that I’d contribute to his campaign if he contributed to mine. I thought this was a simple repost and that the joke would end there. Little did I know… LAR HIMSELF actually saw my comment and responded “send me the details  We are happy support Arthritis Society of Canada so I’m glad to donate to you as well  I will donate and retweet“. 

I don’t mind telling you I was absolutely floored. I sent him my details, and SECONDS LATER, I had a very generous donation sitting on my page. My flabber has been absolutely ghasted! And then he went one step further and reposted my fundraising link on his Facebook page! If you want to show Lar and Christie a bit of love, you can do so by clicking here. And as always, you can donate to my fundraising efforts by clicking here. Any donations of $20 or more are tax deductible and receipts will be provided (in both cases). But as with all fundraising efforts, even the smallest amounts help!

SO! In order to liven the comments section up a bit (or, you know, resuscitate it), tell me what you’ve tried that was completely new to you and blew your mind! 

