Tags

, , , , , , ,

It’s all Sue’s fault. No, really! It’s her fault that instead of working diligently on Zachary’s Flax sweater or his Totoro, I suffered a slight bout of startitis and cast on a new French Cancan.

IMG_20140711_113013137_HDREntirely her fault. Here I was, trying to be responsible and knit stuff I had committed to, and she just kept talking about her French Cancan, and finally I couldn’t take it any more. I searched my stash for some DK and found some lovely Freedom Spirit by Twilleys of Stamford that I bought years ago at Knit Knackers (when they were still on James Street in Ottawa!). It has sadly been discontinued, as has most of the yarn in my stash. It seems to be a trend. Granted, I did buy a lot of my early yarn from the “fun bin”… that was the odd balls bin where they put stuff they were trying to get rid of at discounted prices. So much Rozetti and Twilleys and Katia and other things we just can’t get anymore. *sigh* Twilleys still exists, as do other forms of Freedom, but the Freedom Spirit is no more. It’s quite a heavy DK… I’d almost be tempted to call it worsted. And it’s scratchy yarn (for felting) so we’ll see how it works out. You’ll have to excuse the photo quality, I was using my phone!

I also cast on another boring pair of socks for my dad. He loves the ones I made him last year, and I was able to get some more Bernat Sox on Ebay – another sadly discontinued 100% acrylic sock yarn – it’s actually more of a sport weight, I have to use size 3 needles (3.25mm) to knit the socks. He’s hard on socks, and they have to be very loose and stretchy for him, so I prefer to knit them out of acrylic, and that way my mom can toss them in the washing machine whenever she needs to. There’s also less concern about darning them because the acrylic wears like STEEL WOOL. It’s soft and warm though, and I highly recommend it if you can get your hands on some. I don’t have a picture of the boring socks, because they’re still in my suitcase from the trip to Chicago (I swear, I will empty that suitcase out this weekend!).

Stitches Midwest is coming up, and I’m still not sure if I’ll be attending. I haven’t looked at the Market sessions yet. There were no full-length classes that called my name. The one I was interested in (Beyond Basic Crochet) filled up fast and is no longer available. I’ll keep poking around the website until Sue and I decide what we’re doing. I had to drop out of the Tour de Fleece this year, because I spent the first two days in and driving home from Chicago, and then spent the next three days in excruciating leg pain. Way too much pain to consider pulling out the spinning wheel. It occurred to me later (yesterday) that perhaps the increase in joint pain was due to the rather ridiculous amount of dairy I’d been consuming. I’ve always been somewhat lactose intolerant, but could eat yogurt and most cheeses. Well, I spent Monday and Tuesday eating yogurt for dinner (that lovely thick Liberte stuff with the flavoring in the bottom – YUM). And that likely wasn’t a good plan. So we’re going to cut back the dairy for a while and see if that helps any. Last night, my daughter and I walked around Lac Leamy – it’s not as big as Lake Andrea (2.3 miles vs 1.55 miles for Lac Leamy), but it was a gorgeous day and we enjoyed the walk. I’m still not at the point where I can handle the walk around Pink Lake, because that trail is through cliffs and hills and is mostly stairs (it’s also over 3 miles long).

Bit of a non-sequitur, but Rob has been collecting photos of company logos that incorporate the maple leaf (he claims we’re obsessed!). McDonald’s has them, as do several other stores. I was following a large truck the other day when I saw this:

IMG_20140709_172811529_HDR

Don’t worry, we were stopped at a red light in a traffic jam when I took this 🙂 If you look closely, you’ll see that there are little maple leaves in the center of each of the side stars. I guess maybe we are obsessed? All I know is that it always gives me a little thrill when I’m driving home and start seeing Canadian flags on the road instead of American ones. I don’t think I’ll ever get used to seeing nothing but the US flag everywhere – if I ever move down there, I’ll have to bring a Canadian flag with me!

 

