I’ve been meaning to blog all week, and I’m only now getting around to it (notice a trend?). It’s grey and ugly and depressing outside. Normally, this is my weather, but this week it’s just been making me tired and bummed.

seagull_grey

I’m sitting here at my desk looking at the gorgeous roses Rob sent me for our anniversary (4 years last Sunday!!!). A stranger parked at the bottom of my parents’ driveway while we were getting dinner together. We thought it was a salesman or something, so we gleefully started plotting over who would deal with him. I was chasing my niece into another room when my mom called out and said, “It’s for you!” I thought I’d been elected to send the water heater salesman packing, but it was a delivery! A beautiful vase with four red roses (our tradition – one for each year)! I’m really spoiled!

10527498_10152340992908191_8717458645645828552_n

I’m also sitting here wincing in pain from my many, many muscle aches. And I’m proud of them! I haven’t taken any painkillers yet because I EARNED this pain, dammit! I have been going to the gym for the last 10 days or so – not every day, obviously, but on days when I can’t get to the gym, I’ve been walking or doing other exercise at home. Right now, I am sore because I upped my weight on a few machines yesterday, and spent longer on the bike than I’ve been able to for a while, and I’m pretty happy with what I accomplished! I had a reasonable dinner last night – salmon with sauteed onions and zucchini – and so far I’m on day 16 of the Whole 30, and haven’t cheated once! (well, okay, I had to use evaporated milk in my curry one night because my can of coconut milk mysteriously vanished). Fourteen days to go, and I feel pretty good 🙂

Right now, though, I’d happily go for a nap…

