*sigh* I swore I was going to blog more often, and then depression set in a bit more deeply. Binge eating followed, and a lot of knitting, and there we are. I’m heading off to Rhinebeck, NY for the New York State Sheep and Wool Festival on Friday, so I figured I’d pop my head in really quickly to say hello and update you all on some knitting content. I finished the college dorm blanket of doom, and on Monday evening, it made its way across several states – one step closer to actually being used! I also knit my dad a pair of socks, which I didn’t even manage to snag a picture of. Let me tell you why my dad will always deserve new socks:

One Sunday a few weeks ago, I finally had the finished socks with me when I went to my parents’ house for dinner. I tossed the balled-up socks at my dad. He immediately plonked himself down on the couch, took off his store-bought socks and pulled on the hand-knit ones, got up, and walked off, calling “Thank you!” as he left. Yeah. Dad will keep getting new socks 🙂

I also did a test-knit for a friend of mine. I met Emily when she worked at Knit Knackers Yarn Warehouse here in Ottawa. When the store moved to Smiths Falls, Em stayed here! She designs knitwear and is pretty all-around fabulous. She’s also a big Doctor Who fan. This new pattern? It’s called the Tardis Toque. It’s not available for purchase just yet, but will be soon (the link is to her project page). Here’s the one I knit (featuring the lovely Julianna – an ex co-worker and friend of Emily’s):

Knit on 3.75mm needles out of Cascade 220 in shades 814 and 817.

Knit on 3.75mm needles out of Cascade 220 in shades 814 and 817.

Over on the Two Tangled Skeins board, we’ve been having a knit-along for the Cool Clavicle Cover (by Megan Williams of Stockinette Zombies fame) and the Tan House Brook Shawl by Jennifer Lassonde. I finished my Cool Clavicle Cover a couple of weeks ago…

Knit on 5mm (US8) needles from Bittersweet Woolery's Guilty Pleasures sock base in the Pressed Petals colourway.

Knit on 5mm (US8) needles from Bittersweet Woolery’s Guilty Pleasures sock base in the Pressed Petals colourway.

And I’m currently working on the Tan House Brook Shawl (sorry, the only picture I have is a week old, and doesn’t show the MASSIVE progress I’ve made since!)

Knit on 4.5mm (US 7) needles out of Julianna's Fiber Lucid Dreams sock base in the Harvest colourway.

Knit on 4.5mm (US 7) needles out of Julianna’s Fiber Lucid Dreams sock base in the Harvest colourway.

I also located the Flax sweater, so that’s back in the rotation. A marketing company sent us some lovely Bijou Basin Ranch yarn (mine was the Lhasa Wilderness, which is a Yak/Bamboo blend, in the Skye colourway), so I found this fantastic pattern to knit up with it (Etoile Hat by Linda Irving-Bell). The hat took me all of four days to knit, and although I made it for my daughter (Skye), she decided she wanted the finished Tardis Toque, so off the Etoile went to my mom, who loves it! Sadly, I do not have a completed picture of the hat, only an in-progress picture:

Knit on 3.5mm (US4) needles out of Bijou Basin Ranch's Lhasa Wilderness in the Skye (#52) colourway.

Knit on 3.5mm (US4) needles out of Bijou Basin Ranch’s Lhasa Wilderness in the Skye (#52) colourway.

I’ve also re-started a linen stitch scarf out of scraps from other projects, I’ve been diligently working away at my non-stuffed Hexipuffs for the Beekeeper’s Quilt, and I cast on the Child’s Provence Cabled Pullover by Classic Elite Yarns out of Berroco Comfort DK solids in a faded denim blue. I don’t have any progress shots of that one, since I’ve only got about an inch on the needles 🙂

My goals at Rhinebeck are to find a wall-hung cable needle organizer, perhaps a woven basket to keep current projects in, maybe a Woolee Winder, yarn to make myself a Taliesin sweater (by Leeana Gardner) and some Bittersweet Woolery yarn (duh…) There are four of us going this time, and we rented the same cabin Rob and I stayed at with the kids last summer. I am very excited about it and can’t wait to leave 🙂

Sorry it’s been so long. The fog has been lifting slightly of late. Rob and I spent the entire long weekend reorganizing my bedroom, moving furniture, and sorting things out to make my bedroom the perfect little oasis, but I’ll share the details of that in a future post 🙂 Thank goodness no “before” pictures exist!

