It’s -5° C outside, there’s snow and ice, and I’m going to bed and getting up at the same times as before, but now I feel like I’m dragging through the days. I hate Daylight Savings Time. I also hate abrupt season changes. It’s November 18th, and I feel like it’s the middle of winter. Fall, my favorite time of the year, is dead and gone. *sigh* For the next five months, we will be buried in frozen white crap and salt and dirt and cold. The houseplants I have at the office are starting to notice the seasons changing too – leaning farther toward the window, trying to catch a glimpse of sun without feeling the chill from the cold glass.

On a slightly more positive note, things are going well at work, and things are starting to get sorted out with organizing the house (a multi-year process at this point). I’m getting excited about pomegranates and clementine oranges being in season again, and I’m getting a handle on this adulting stuff.

There’s also been lots of knitting going on. I guess the cool weather arriving has sort of bonked me over the head. I joined NaKniSweMo (based on NaNoWriMo) – November is National Knit a Sweater Month, and you’re supposed to knit a sweater of minimum 50,000 stitches between November 1st and 30th. I made a strong start, and I’ve been making good progress… but I don’t think my sweater will top out anywhere near 50,000 stitches. So it doesn’t count for the competition, but I’m still going to try to finish it as quickly as possible. It’s the Flax Sweater by Tin Can Knits. I’ve also been working on a new pair of socks for Rob (first one’s finished). They’re plain vanilla socks based on Stephanie Pearl-McPhee’s A Good, Plain Sock Recipe from Knitting Rules. Only modification is that I do the whole sock (except the sole) in a 3×2 rib.

The hexis are proceeding apace, although they’re not puffs. They’re hexiflats! Sue named them that for the podcast, and I like it, so that’s what they’re going to be known as from now on. I will add pictures to this post later tonight.

Anyway, trying to convince myself to go out in the cold so I can make my way home for the night. Who else wants to join me in hibernation?

