I know it’s been a couple of months, but things have been nuts, I’ve had zero motivation, and I’m just TIRED. Christmas, and the time leading up to it, was nuts. Funny for someone who doesn’t celebrate Christmas, right? For some reason, I got it into my head this year that I had to knit Christmas gifts for everyone in my immediate family (my family DOES celebrate Christmas). My son got a sweater (I finally finished the Flax sweater by Tincanknits). My daughter got a poncho I improvised from the Stolen Moments Wrap by Amy Swenson. My parents and Rob all got socks based on A Good Plain Sock Recipe by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee. I also managed to knit myself a pair of mittens (what? It was cold out!):

mittens

Apparently these are done in Schachenmayr SMC Colorful, and they’re done using the Afghans for Afghans Basic Childrens’ Mittens pattern by Elizabeth Durand. I don’t have pictures of any of the other projects, since they’ve all been given away LOL I will endeavor to get pictures of my kids’ gifts, since they live with me.

We spent our winter break cleaning, decluttering, and building things. Rob built me a bookshelf… a couple of years ago, some neighbors moved out and left the shell of a cheap bookcase near the garbage area. Rob screwed support pieces in, then screwed the shelves in permanently, and now I have a brand new bookcase! (I talked him out of painting this one – I wanted quick and dirty, and that’s what I got! – and no, it’s not actually dirty). There’s still SO much more to do, but I ended up sending six or seven bags of clothing to Goodwill, and tossing one or two more. I lost count of the number of garbage bags we tossed, but suffice to say, my neighbors were getting pretty sick of me filling the bins every day.

Other than that, things have been kind of overwhelming. I’ve been retreating a lot to avoid having to deal with anything, because I don’t have the energy. Thus, the lack of spoons. (For anyone unfamiliar with the term “out of spoons”, I invite you to read this very informative article!) I’m working on building up a stockpile again though. Whole 30 started again yesterday, and I’m starting to recognize that half the time when I think I’m hungry, I’m only *psychologically* hungry. I’m hungry in my head, but not in my stomach. Incidentally, last night I made Melissa Joulwan’s Chocolate Chili from The Clothes Make the Girl blog, and it was absolutely delicious! I’d just reduce the salt slightly, and wait until it’s cool enough to eat so I don’t burn my tongue again 😉

I’m starting to get my shit together and be able to cook again, and be able to get things done without tripping over STUFF in my house, and I have a plan for how I want to change the livingroom around (this requires that my daughter clean her room, so it’s a work in progress) and I’m starting to feel like a responsible adult again.

Over at Two Tangled Skeins, we’ve started a Brown Bag Sock Challenge. The idea is that you take twelve skeins of sock yarn (or whatever – we’re not really strict on rules), twelve patterns you’ve been meaning to knit, and put one of each in twelve paper lunch bags. Every month, you choose a new bag and knit a surprise pair of socks! It’s a good way to build up your sock collection (not for me, because I don’t wear them, but everyone else does), and to stash down your sock yarn collection, which may or may not be slightly out of control (mine is…). I’ve already finished my January project, which was the Ilene Bag by Hannah Ingalls, made from two skeins of Universal Yarn Summer Linen in this gorgeous orange colorway. I have one skein left, and I’m going to attempt to improve my crochet skills by doing a Jazz Age Washcloth by Jenny Catchings with it! If you’d like to join the challenge, head on over to our Ravelry group, join up, and start brown bagging it!

On the needles right now, I’ve got the Olive Branch Shawl by Library Paste in Handmaiden’s Mini Maiden, I’m improvising a pair of flip-top mittens for my son (also based on the Basic Children’s Mitten pattern linked above) out of Bernat Softee Chunky in Grey Heather, and I’ve been working on the Beekeeper’s Quilt by tinyowlknits and will occasionally knit a few rows on Totoro by Robin Zillman Jacobson.

In other words, I’ve turned into a knitting machine, and I haven’t been doing much of anything else! What have you all been up to while I’ve been away? (Away… that’s a nice way of saying “too damn lazy to interact with anyone”)

