My mom is an early-rising morning person. I am decidedly not. However, I’m beginning to understand why she enjoys her morning solitude. When I was a kid, my mom would wake at 4:45 on weekday mornings, without fail. That’s always seemed really ridiculously early to me, but what do I know? I have no idea what time she woke up on weekends, all I know is, it was before I got up.

She’d use that time to take a shower – I assume… to this day, I have never been aware of my mother using the shower, and when I lived at home, she washed her hair in the utility sink in the basement. This always puzzled me, but again, what do I know? She grew up in a house that didn’t have a shower, so maybe this was just what she knew. She’d read her newspaper and eat her breakfast, make our lunches, and then start thinking about waking us up. By the time I was in high school, my alarm clock would wake me long after she’d left to take the bus to work.

My father? SO not a morning person. It was sometimes a chore and a half to wake him so he could drive us to the babysitter’s house in the next town over. If you let him, he’d sleep most of the day away and be up all night. I’m more like him, temperament-wise. I like my late nights and sleeping in. But recently, I’ve found my view shifting a bit.

I’ve been having a bit of insomnia the last few months. I’ll wake in the middle of the night and just not be able to get back to sleep. So I’ll get up and knit, or read, or play around online until it’s a more appropriate time to be moving around above my downstairs neighbors’ heads. But the best part of waking up stupidly early? I get to watch this:

Not my picture, it came from here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/rudypohl/13757294663/

Not my picture, it came from here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/rudypohl/13757294663/

This isn’t the exact sunrise I saw (I live farther east than this) but it’s close. And it was magnificent. I got to see another tiny vertical rainbow on the way into work. The bridge I cross to get to Ottawa from the Quebec side is right next to a hydro dam, so the spray often creates little tiny ones in the sky. It’s one of the highlights of my commute, along with the waterfall created by open sluice gates.

I don’t mind insomnia so much when it comes at the morning end of my sleep schedule. I’d hate to lie in bed and not be able to fall asleep at night when I’m tired, but this? This is okay.

