Before I begin with what I’ve been up to, I have some exciting news from a friend of mine! My friend Sarah has FINALLY opened her Etsy shop. Rabbit Ribbit Lamb has some mighty fine stitch markers, and I’d appreciate it if you could check her out. She specializes in stitch markers made from copper and semi-precious stones, but has a range of items available, and her prices are fantastic!

il_570xN.958747234_tz18

Many of you who were around this time last year will remember the epic cabled blanket I was making for a friend of mine who was getting married. Well, this year, it’s my cousin getting married (on my birthday! w00t!), and I’ve got another epic cabled blanket in the works 🙂 It’s not a surprise this time – she picked the colors and everything! So I’ve been working at it slowly – and now, once again, I’m three months to crunch time and I need to get moving. SO, I finished a square today and will begin connecting a few squares tomorrow. This is the Traci Bunkers Square from the 2007 Great American Afghan collection from XRX Books (and Knitters Magazine), knit from Knit Picks Brava Worsted in the Freesia colorway on size 4.5mm (US 7) needles:

IMG_20160505_011711155

I also cast on a new project today – it’ll see some love between squares – I’m thinking it will probably be my Rhinebeck sweater this year! It’s the Mama Vertebrae cardigan by Kelly Brooker. The pattern was a birthday gift from my lovely friend Jen over at the Uncreative Crafter Podcast (go show her some love!). A group of us who VKN (virtual knit night) together regularly all cast on this evening – Sarah from The Canadian Knitter Podcast, Jen, Amanda from the Stitching Ewe and More Podcast, and our friend Brandi (who will soon be convinced to start her own podcast, I’m sure!). My friend Tonya will be casting on a Baby Vertebrae along with us!

IMG_20160505_011646384

Not much to show just yet, but it’s a respectable start! I’m using Bernat Softee Chunky mill ends in the Fern colorway and size 5.5mm (US 9) needles.

I know that by now, Sue and I are usually preparing for our annual trek to the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival, but sadly, we won’t be able to attend this year. My job situation, and the fact that the Festival falls on Mothers Day weekend this year… well, it’s just not going to happen. But we are looking forward to seeing everyone again next year! (And we *will* be attending Stitches Midwest and New York Sheep and Wool later in the year.)

I acquired a fair amount of fabric that my friend Sarah (Seattle Sky Dyeworks) was destashing recently, and my mom and I plan on using some of it to teach me to sew! Stay tuned, but please, don’t expect any great progress in that arena any time soon.

The Tea Diaries

I’ve been on a bit of a Peppermint tea kick, thanks to a package of 100% peppermint tea bags my friend Jessica (of the Serenova Crafts Podcast) sent me. I love peppermint tea, because it’s simple, refreshing, and awesome hot or cold (I love iced peppermint tea!) It’s been rather warm lately, so I haven’t been dipping as heavily into the tea stash as I normally do. Soon I’ll have to go back to making a pot of tea in the evenings and putting them in the fridge so I can have some ice cold tea for the next day!

One new one I tried this week is another Madame Flavour tea – this time I tried her Lemongrass, Lime and Ginger Tisane. Oh…. words can’t even describe how vibrant and delicious this tea was! It was surprisingly mild with only the slightest bit of kick from the ginger. This Australian tea maven is a recent discovery, thanks to Emma (the driving force behind The Gamer Widows) who sent me a pile of different teas to try, and I think she’s going to become a regular feature in my tea cabinet.

If you haven’t been keeping up with us at Two Tangled Skeins, we have a new co-host who is with us more often than not – come check Selma out and see the absolutely amazing things she knits! Until next time, keep the shiny side up!

